Baby is here!
2005-10-15 || 1:58 p.m.

Name: Sarah Amelia Guenette
Age: 10 days
Birthdate: October 5/2005
Time: 1:21am
Weight: 5 pds 9 oz

Yep 10 days ago I gave birth to my first baby. Ive been in HUGE back pains for 3 days before my water broke on October 4th @ 7:50pm. My mom & Tim called a cab as SOON as I said my water broke. Then off to the hospital we[Time didnt stay very long] went. I was in one room for like maybe an 1 hour at the most & then cuz I was dilating so quickly they took me to the delivery room. After like 3 hours of trying to walk around to get rid of the pain, sucking on ice chips & wet swabs, breathing in some kind of gas & waiting for morphine to kick in[I asked for an epidural but the pretty much stalled into giving me one until it was too late & then STILL didnt give it]which DIDNT kick in....I was finally able to push. This was actually worse than the labor itself. It took me at least 20 pushes & still the baby wasnt coming very fast & out of the blue the doctors are shoving this huge suction cup vaccum thing up me "down there" & it hurt like a son of a gun & I so I was swearing at them to get it out cuz I wasnt sure what was happening. Soon enough though they were saying they see the head & all that & kept getting me to push. I find out after that things were wrong with the baby. The umbilical cord was wrapped around her neck, she swallowed her first poop while she was still in utero, she was stressed & her blood pressure was really low. She even stopped breathing for 15 minutes after she was born. I didnt know this until after awhile becuz I was too busy being happy that it was over & that my baby was here. All this stress on her put in the NICU @ the Royal Alexandra in Edmonton. She was there for a week & I stayed with her until she got to go home a week later. Shes fine now. My moms been hogging her the last few days shes been home & I dont blame her being the grandma for the first time & for finally getting her home a week AFTER she was born.
Shes been a pretty quiet baby lately. Awake more during the day & sleeping more at night. Only waking up once or twice at nite. But we will see how she is the next few days, weeks & months! :)

I have more to say but thats pretty much all I have time for rite now. So I will try to write in here later on some time.

Fat ||Thin